

For Immediate Release Thursday, October 31, 2013

Contact

Press Line: (312) 814-3158

Brooke Anderson <u>Brooke.Anderson@illinois.gov</u> Grant Klinzman <u>Grant.Klinzman@illinois.gov</u>

Governor Quinn Announces Names of Students to be Honored by Lincoln Academy November 2

Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognizes the top student from each college and university in Illinois

SPRINGFIELD – Governor Pat Quinn today announced the names of the state's outstanding college students who will be honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois. The Academy will recognize the students during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 2 the Old State Capitol State Historic Site in Springfield.

"These students have exhibited a personal commitment to excel as seen by their remarkable academic accomplishments," Governor Quinn said. "They serve as role models to other Illinois students. With hardworking and dedicated young leaders such as these, Illinois and the rest of the nation can look forward to a bright future."

The Lincoln Academy's Student Laureate Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from among all the community colleges in Illinois. At the Student Laureate Convocation, each will receive a Student Laureate Medallion, along with a \$1,000 educational grant and a certificate of achievement. This event will mark the 39th year that students have been honored by the Academy.

Student Laureate Caelin Niehoff of DePaul University will speak on behalf of all the Laureates. The invocation will be delivered by Robert A. Easter, Ph.D., President of the University of Illinois and the benediction will be delivered by The Reverend Stanley Davis, Jr. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort will provide music, and a luncheon at the Illinois Executive Mansion will follow the Student Laureate Convocation.

The Lincoln Academy, unique among the 50 states, was established 49 years ago to honor Illinois' most distinguished citizens with the state's highest award, the Order of Lincoln. The 50th Annual Convocation and Investiture of Laureates of The Lincoln Academy of Illinois will take place Saturday, May 3, 2014 at the Field Museum in Chicago.

STUDENT LAUREATES

School	Student	Home Town
Augustana College	Jenna N. Orabutt	Hawthorn Woods, IL

Aurora University Benedictine University Blackburn College **Bradley University** Chicago State University Columbia College – Chicago Concordia University Chicago DePaul University **Dominican University** Eastern Illinois University Elmhurst College Eureka College Governors State University Greenville College Illinois College Illinois Institute of Technology Miriam R. Schmid Illinois State University Illinois Wesleyan University **Judson University Knox College** Lake Forest College Lake Land College Lewis University Lincoln College Loyola University Chicago MacMurray College McKendree University Millikin University Monmouth College National Louis University North Central College North Park University Northeastern Illinois University Northern Illinois University Olivet Nazarene University Principia College **Quincy University** Rockford University Roosevelt University St. Xavier University Southern IL Univ. Carbondale Eileen N. Schweiss Southern IL Univ. Edwardsville The University of Chicago **Trinity Christian College Trinity International University** University of IL at Chicago University of IL at Springfield

Univ. of IL at Urbana-Champaign

VanderCook College of Music

University of St. Francis

Western Illinois University

Wheaton College

Andrew J. Patton Eman Sahloul Ashlev Donoho Jonathan Teich Christopher D. Muldrow Allison C. Shuman David J. Moldenhauer Caelin Niehoff David C. Gayes Zachary D. Samples Emily A. Darow Lauren M. Schwanke Ricca Louissaint Alyssa R. Gosselin Phuong Hoang Nguyen Brian M. Kulaga Josefina Banales Cassandra E. Criminger Carolyn Stephen Anali N. Vargas Kolten A. Postin Samantha J. Rinehart Josh A. Jones Thomas J. Serena Katherine L. Schmidt Anthony J. Rhoads Emily E. D'Ambrose William T. Terrill Kristine Becker-Kristufek Colin J. Loeffler An Tran Ashor O. Jajou Sarah L. Stuebing Breanne M. Bambrick Haley O. Morton Samantha A. Nielsen Dunja Cosic Erin McCaslin Lauren Bryk Christopher J. Branch Safiya C. Johnson Megan L. Anderson Rebekah E. Held Fransely Robles Joshua Eastby Amanda M. Rowland Brandon S. Collofello Maxwell J. Dykla Lindsey M. Posmanick

Oswego, IL Orland Park, IL Bay City, MI Oak Forest, IL Cranston, RI Walled Lake, MI Algonauin, IL Oak Park, IL Decatur, IL Palatine, IL Eureka, IL South Holland, IL Derby, VT Thai Binh, Vietnam Cissna Park, IL Elmhurst, IL Chicago, IL Flanagan, IL St. Louis, MO Chicago, IL Moweagua, IL Marion, IA Joliet, IL Shorewood. IL Jerseyville, IL Litchfield, IL Naperville, IL Sugar Grove, IL Mt. Prospect. IL Sun Prairie, WI Hanoi. Vietnam Morton Grove, IL DeKalb. IL Washington, IL Wildwood, MO Arlington Heights, IL Rockford, IL Maple Valley, WA Rolling Meadows, IL Edwardsville, IL Chicago, IL Elgin, IL Hartford, WI Chicago, IL Edwardsville, IL Burr Ridge, IL Minooka, IL Belding, MI

Festus, MO Troy, IL Sarah R. Vander Vorst Mound City, SD