

The Lincoln Academy of Illinois

One Old State Capitol Plaza Springfield, Illinois 62701 Telephone: 217-785-5030 www.thelincolnacademyofillinois.org

Top Students Honored by The Lincoln Academy of Illinois



Ceremony at Old State Capitol recognizes the top student from each college and university in Illinois

Outstanding college students representing Illinois' colleges were honored by the Lincoln Academy of Illinois and recognized these students during the annual Student Laureate Convocation at 11 a.m. Saturday, November 12 at the Old State Capitol in Springfield.

Governor Bruce Rauner, President of the Lincoln Academy, and First Lady Diana Rauner welcomed all the students and awarded each one with a certificate of merit, a medal of Lincoln, and a \$1,000 check. Governor Rauner said "President Lincoln's legacy is a reminder of the power of public service and civic engagement here in Illinois and across the country."

"The students chosen to receive this honor have exemplified the principles and ideals of the greatest Illinoisan through their hard work and dedication to their schools and communities," said Governor Rauner.

The Lincoln Academy's Abraham Lincoln Civic Engagement Awards are presented for excellence in curricular and extracurricular activities to seniors from each of the state's four-year, degree-granting colleges and universities, and one student from the community colleges in Illinois. This is the 42nd year Lincoln Academy has celebrated students' excellence in Illinois.

Stephanie Pace Marshall, PhD, Chancellor of the Lincoln Academy spoke at the ceremony. Student Laureate Rachel Hile-Broad of the University of Chicago spoke on behalf of all the Student Laureates. Dr. Helen Morrison, a Rector of the Lincoln Academy, and Lester McKeever, a Regent, announced each Student. The Sangamon Woodwind Consort provided music, and a luncheon for the Student Laureates and their families at the Abraham Lincoln Doubletree Hotel followed the Student Laureate Convocation.

The invocation was delivered by **Eric Fulcomer**, President of Rockford University, and the benediction was delivered by Eureka College President **Jamel Santa Cruze Wright**. Additional

Presidents and Chancellors attending the ceremony were
John Comerford President, Blackburn College

Cecil Lucy Interim President, Chicago State University

Ivan Filby President, Greenville College Gene Crume President, Judson University David Gerlach President, Lincoln College Robert J. Gervasi President, Quincy University

Mablene Krueger President, Robert Morris University

Brad Colwell Chancellor, Southern Illinois University Carbondale

Kurt Dykstra President, Trinity Christian College

Susan Koch Charles T. Menghini President, VanderCook College of Music Charlotte Warren President, Lincoln Land Community College

School Student Home Town

Augustana College Christopher S. Saladin Carthage, MO Laura E. Dierking Aurora University Naperville, IL Benedictine University Brandon Nguyen Oswego, IL Blackburn College Veronica Milligan Taylorville, IL Bradley University Charles J. Barchett Benton Harbor, MI Chicago State University Darren David Martin Chicago, IL Columbia College - Chicago Rasul Freelain Chicago, IL Concordia University Chicago Connor Lee Wondrasch Rochester, MN **DePaul University** Jessica Villagomez Willowbrook, IL **Dominican University** Raunel Urquiza Chicago, IL Eastern Illinois University Michaela Lee Crabtree Ellis Grove, IL East-West University Raymond E. Davis Chicago, IL Elmhurst College Marie A. Partyka Wood Dale, IL Eureka College Grace Alisha Kageha Mahasi Peoria, IL Governors State University Samantha Allen Park Forest, IL Greenville College Claire Marie Sattler Barlett, IL Illinois College Daniel James Bacon Lincoln, IL Illinois Institute of Technology Chicago, IL Maya A. Al-Khouja Illinois State University Lauren Ann Koszyk Bloomington, IL Illinois Wesleyan University Paige Elizabeth Buschman Lemont, IL **Judson University** Nicholas R Sebastian Modlin Wheeling, IL Knox College Joshua William Tvrdy Tucson, AZ Lake Forest College Medora Kea Sweet St. Paul, MN Lewis University Alexandria M. Austring Aroma, IL Lincoln College Kristin N. Werry West Peoria, IL Loyola University Chicago Sojourney Rallo Northbrook, IL MacMurray College Jasmine Renae White Jacksonville, IL McKendree University Acadia Revnolds New Orleans, LA Philip Ganley Millikin University Decatur, IL Monmouth College Emma C. Vanderpool Frankfort, IL National Louis University Nancy Zhu Elk Grove, IL North Central College Luis Antonio Tello Ramona, CA North Park University Chicago, IL Anais Bakayoko Northeastern Illinois University Alicia Ozier Chicago, IL Northern Illinois University Rebecca Ann Rasmussen Franklin Park, IL Olivet Nazarene University Kaleb R. Miller Canton, IL Principia College Annika Bryn Erickson Petaluma, CA **Quincy University** Nicholas James Nosbisch Effingham, IL Robert Morris University Peoria, IL Tameka Latasha Mason Rockford University Ivv Hood Roscoe, IL Roosevelt University Alice Beals Somerset, NJ St. Xavier University Meghan Hill North Aurora, IL School of the Art Institute of Chicago Al-Qawi Nanavati Mumbai Southern Illinois University Carbondale Steven Eugene Dew Downs, IL

Alton, IL

Southern Illinois University Edwardsville Chloe Anna Huelsmann

STUDENT LAUREATES

Student

School

Home Town

The University of Chicago Rachel Hile-Broad Normal, IL Trinity Christian College Menomonee Falls, WI Courtney Brynn Kalous Trinity International University **Emylee Thompson** South Elgin, IL University of Illinois Chicago Rafid Rahman Chatham, IL University of Illinois Springfield Kendra Baber Normal, IL University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign Shivaliben Bhargavkumar Patel Urbana, IL University of St. Francis Jeremy J. Grachan Crest Hill, IL VanderCook College of Music Alexandro Gonzalez Bolingbrook, IL Western Illinois University St. Charles, IL William J. Gradle Wheaton College Indianapolis, IN Christopher J. Lee Lincoln Land Community College Brandon D. Lewis Springfield, IL

###